Home General Martial Law Imposed In 37 Myanmar Townships

Martial Law Imposed In 37 Myanmar Townships

Myanmar’s military government has imposed martial law in 37 townships across the country, including in the resistance strongholds of Sagaing and Magwe regions. This comes a day after the regime extended emergency rule for six more months, two years since the coup on February 1, 2021, signaling more oppression. Junta chief Min Aung Hlaing told the National Defense and Security Council that security needed to be tightened in 65 of the country’s 330 townships to restore the rule of law. Martial law sees 37 townships in eight regions and states being put under the direct control of regional commanders, reports The Irrawaddy. Military courts will hear any criminal cases deemed critical of the regime. The junta warned that the death penalty and life sentences would be handed down. No appeals for verdicts will be allowed in those cases, except for the death sentence, in which case, appeals can be submitted to Min Aung Hlaing for a final decision.

Nitin A Gokhale WhatsApp Channel