Home Europe Slovenia Becomes Latest EU Country To Recognise Palestinian State

Slovenia Becomes Latest EU Country To Recognise Palestinian State

Slovenia became the latest European Union country to recognise an independent Palestinian state. Its parliament approved the move with a majority vote, dismissing a call for a referendum on the issue by the largest opposition party on Tuesday.

Slovenia’s PM says decision sends ‘hope’ to the people of Palestine

The government decided last week to recognise Palestine as an independent and sovereign state. This decision ensures Slovenia follows in the steps of Spain, Ireland, and Norway as part of a wider effort to coordinate pressure on Israel to end the conflict in Gaza.

Prime Minister Robert Golob wrote on X that today’s decision of the “recognition of Palestine as a sovereign and independent state sends hope to the Palestinian people in the West Bank and in Gaza.” The vote was scheduled for Tuesday. A parliamentary group for foreign affairs endorsed the government decision with a majority vote on Monday.

Slovenia’s right wing opposition party had protested the move

The right-wing Slovenian Democratic Party (SDS) had submitted a proposal on a consultative referendum on the recognition bid. This would have delayed the vote for at least a month.

The SDS, the largest opposition party, argued it was not the right time to recognise an independent Palestinian state. It said that the move would only reward the “terrorist organisation Hamas”.

Resolution passed after the opposition boycotted the session

After the ruling coalition, which holds a majority in Slovenia’s 90-member parliament, tried to find the way around the referendum demand and proceed with the vote, the SDS withdrew their proposal but submitted it again hours later.

Nitin A Gokhale WhatsApp Channel

The parliament committee for foreign affairs declared it inadequate and dismissed it at an extraordinary session.

Approval of the resolution came by 52 votes as the opposition party boycotted the session.

Of the 27 members of the EU, Sweden, Cyprus, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Poland, Slovakia, Romania and Bulgaria have already recognised a Palestinian state. Malta has said it could follow soon.

With inputs from Reuters