South Asia and Beyond

Diplomatic Boycott Of Winter Olympics: China Fumes

Four countries (U.S., Canada, Australia, UK) that have announced a diplomatic boycott of the Beijing Winter Olympics “will pay the price for their wrongdoing,” the Chinese foreign ministry said. It accused them of using the Olympic platform for “political manipulation”. The boycott is intended to send a message to China on its human rights violations.