South Asia and Beyond

SNG Explains: What Is South China Sea Dispute?

NEW DELHI: The South China Sea is the epicenter of the dispute between China and its neighbouring countries like Taiwan, Vietnam, The Philippines, Malaysia, Brunei, and Indonesia. This 1.4 million square miles long stretch has disputed islands such as Paracel, the Spratly, the Pratas, Scarborough Shoal, and Macclesfield Bank. This contention in the South China Sea dates back to the 20th century when China came out with its own 11-line map. Naturally rich and one of the busiest sea routes, the South China Sea holds a significant position in global politics.

Nitin A Gokhale WhatsApp Channel


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *